Main Menu

Explore More


five girls holding trophies
Region 15 Schools

The 8th Annual Region 15 Nutmeg Book Bowl competition was recently held at Pomperaug High School. Winning teams representing Region 15’s four elementary schools competed against each other to answer questions about the ten 2022 Intermediate Nutmeg Book Award nominees. 

Congratulations to “Little Women” from Middlebury Elementary School (MES), this year’s district winners in the competition. It was the first year a team from MES captured the championship title. Members of the winning MES team are Maggie Gallino (Captain), Carolina Keenaghan, Payton Barbarisi, Lucy Lombardo, and Katelyn Michitsch. MES will host the winning trophy until next year’s competition.

This event is a collaboration among the four Region 15 elementary school library media Specialists Christina O’Neill (Long Meadow Elementary School), Stephanie Robinson (Middlebury Elementary School), Kristyn Mastropietro (Pomperaug Elementary School) and Michelle Schwenger (Gainfield Elementary School); the Nutmeg Book Award Committee comprised of librarians, teachers and students; library paraprofessionals, Principals, Fifth Grade teachers and staff members, and families at each of Region 15’s elementary schools.

Representing the other three elementary schools are The Bookworms from Long Meadow Elementary School, Evan Lowry, Savannah Torpey, Ruth Salsbury (Captain), Elina Abazi, Eliesa Abazi; The One and Onlys from Pomperaug Elementary School, Morgan McCann (Captain), Logan Turner, Logan Steeves, Declan Famiglietti, Cameron Bernardi; and The Nerdy Nutmegs from Gainfield Elementary School, Gabriella Walsh (Captain), Helena Fleming, Lillian Lynch, Mia Thoennessen, Sofia Dicello.