The Region 15 Board of Education is pleased to be the bridge between the community and the schools. The 10-member board is comprised of six Southbury and four Middlebury representatives elected to four-year staggered terms. Student representatives are appointed to be non-voting members of the Board of Education and serve as liaisons between the student body and the Board of Education.

The Board meets twice each month, usually on the second and fourth Mondays at 7:30 p.m, to hear public comments, conduct business, and to hear reports from Board Committees and school administrators.  

Board meeting agendas are posted on our website and at Middlebury and Southbury Town Halls.

Board of Education Members

Board of Education Member  Town Term Expiration Date
Ms. Sharon Attick Southbury November, 2023
Ms. Shannon Cavallo Middlebury December 1, 2021
Mr. John R. Cookson (Secretary) Middlebury December 1, 2023
Ms. Heather Dwyer Southbury November, 2022
Ms. Marion Manzo (Chairperson) Southbury November, 2021
Ms. Heather Rodgers (Treasurer) Southbury November, 2021
Mr. Richard Spierto Middlebury December 1, 2021
Mr. Steven Suriani Southbury November, 2022
Mr. Tom Marks Southbury November, 2021
Mr. Peter Vaccarelli Middlebury December 1, 2023

To email the entire Region 15 Board of Education:

Public Participation

All Board meetings except Executive Sessions are open to the public. Board meetings are also recorded and available on the Region 15 YouTube channel.  

Any member of the public may speak and offer brief comments (3-minute maximum) to the Board during public comments. 

Letters and emails are always welcome.  All communications sent to Town boards and officials become part of the public record and are subject to legal requirements for disclosure and retention.  All communications are an important part of the public dialog.  We ask you to include your name and address. Emails sent to an individual board member will be shared with all board members.